FAQ: Influence and How it Works

Discuss or develop strategies here!
Kruldar
Lancer

FAQ: Influence and How it Works

Postby Kruldar » Wed Dec 05, 2012 1:14 am

I am a little new to this; I will be adding information so it's made clear what influence is and how the new features of the recent update allow you to cap barbarian cities:

Can I cap a player without an academy?
~No, this only applies to barbarian cities.

How do Barbarian Cities work on these worlds?
~Each city has a base influence rate. Barbarian cities can become player-controlled if a player gets its influence to 100 points.

What is influence and how do you cap a barb city?
~Influence allows you to capture a city. When capping a barbarian city, any player can attack a barbarian city to bring its influence down. However, when capping the city a yours, you must make personal attacks on the city so it's yours.

How are Barbarian cities different?
~Barbarian cities unlike normal cities do not offer all the buildings a normal city has. They will have a different graphical overview as well. The buildings unavailable in barb cities are: Stable, Workshop, Competitions, Wheel of Fortune, and Academy. As barbarian cities don't have every building, the only troops they are able to produce are lancers, sentries, and berserkers. Additionally, the City Hall can only be upgraded to level 15 which diminishes the upgrade time of buildings. Resource buildings produce 80% of what they produce from a normal player's city.

I attacked a barbarian city and lost troops. Why?
~Barbarian cities produce troops periodically. There is a certain amount of troops built (lancers/sentries/berserkers). Once the unit cap is reached, unit production is stopped. If the city loses troops, troops are made periodically till it reaches the unit cap again.

How do I gain influence?
~Every world has a separate influence regeneration rate. This can be checked in the options or information when joining a world.